Proper Pen For The Desk Set

dmmay

I have spend time mainly with Esterbrooks pens, but I have recently become interested in the world of Walh Eversharp pens (I am truly a novice here). I bought this simple little fountain pen holder but it does not have a pen. As I have read in various places on this forum, there are different sizes of pens for these holders. Is there a way to know what the correct pen size would be for this one? Of course the next set would be to buy the pen. I have worked with replacing sacs on Esterbrooks. Are there many differences with replacing sacs on Walh Eversharps? Many thanks for insights.

David

post-89248-0-79851700-1421707452_thumb.png

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• dmmay

• Ted F

• ihimlen

• Roger W.

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Diameters change dependent mostly on time period. Find an early Wahl desk pen and you should be alright as I bet this was made in the 1930's in answer to Sheaffer's streamlined socket of 1930. Wahl, Parker and Sheaffer were working together as they had formed the Pen Desk Set Company at the end of 1928. By then Sheaffer was using one diameter and Wahl was likely doing the same. So if you are period correct you will be diameter correct. My last Wahl ad is 1931 and the socket style is later than that. The turned base is very 1930's.

Roger W.

This type of humidor will accept the slim Wahl-Eversharp desk pen model with double bands around the lever, no Gold Seal emblem and no. 2 Wahl-Eversharp nib (these nibs usually have WAHL name above Eversharp lettering arranged in a 'wave' banner - like on this nib but sans the "Gold Seal" imprint - just "Wahl Eversharp" and 2 underneath).

i.

ihimlen

www.opiorach.blogspot.com

www.forumopiorach.net

• 4 weeks later...

Based on the replies, I have been looking for several weeks for a pen to fit the desk set in the above postings. Would this pen be the one?

Many Thanks,

David

post-89248-0-03688100-1423782681.png