Waterman 32 1/2 Clipless Ink Flow Diagnosis

Intellidepth

Hi, I'm brand new to vintage pens and have received a cute Waterman 32 1/2 with ink flow issues.

If dipped, the feed/nib works just fine. The lever/fill system seems to work just fine also. However once the nib/feed runs out of ink, it doesn't seem to be drawing from the supply in the sac.

The seller has suggested I soak the section in warm soapy water overnight to try to loosen the nib/feed to explore that avenue. But I have read of issues with sections made from BHR being soaked in water and oxidizing, so am cautious. Do I need to be concerned? I have demineralised water available.

Is the nib/feed on the 32 1/2 friction fit or have a threaded carrier please? The pen is green celluloid but has a black section. (I'm exceptionally new to this, obviously. I think it's friction but don't want to destroy the section through ignorance.)

An extra issue. The celluloid barrel has a crack through the threads near the section that appears to have been shellac'd or glued in place. The seller didn't say whether he'd shellac'd this particular repair, but said he never glues but does use shellac. So I'm exceptionally cautious about even trying to think about separating the section from the barrel to explore ink issues via that avenue. Again, would this be friction fit or threaded?

Ideas/suggestions/recommendations please? Thanks.

Noodler's Konrad Acrylics (normal+Da Luz custom flex) ~ Lamy AL-Stars/Vista F/M/1.1 ~ Handmade Barry Roberts Dayacom M ~ Waterman 32 1/2, F semi-flex nib ~ Conklin crescent, EF super-flex ~ Aikin Lambert dip pen EEF super-flex ~ Aikin Lambert dip pen semi-flex M ~ Jinhao X450s ~ Pilot Custom Heritage 912 Posting Nib ~ Sailor 1911 Profit 21k Rhodium F. Favourite inks: Iroshizuku blends, Noodler's CMYK blends.

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Intellidepth

• Cepasaccus

• RMN

Top Posters In This Topic