Is This Parker 51 Good For It's Price?

jmarcoscp

I am new to the FPN, and i wanted to start a collection of vintage fountain pens buying one of the most iconic pens of history, a Parker 51. Then i saw one that i liked very much. I will not be posting ano photos (in part because i don't know how, and i want to respect the seller), but if somewone can help me, here is the link:

http://mostlyparker51.com/page2/page2.html

My goal is to know if this pen is a good one (for it's price) and the reputation of this seller by here. Since now i want to thank everyone who can help me starting another (addictive?) pleasurable hobby.

PS: The pen has the code P51VF-2498. It is a india black vacumatic with a gold filled cap.

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• OcalaFlGuy

• jmarcoscp

• Cryptos

• NinthSphere

IMO, it's priced about $60-70 too high.

Check with FPNer Farmersmums. Search on the past classifieds with his nickname to see 51s he's sold.

I would think the same pen from him would be in the $90-110 area.

His pictures speak more than loudly enough for the quality of his work.

Bruce in Ocala, Fl

Edited by OcalaFlGuy

Allow me to clarify.

There are X numbers of pen people who have more money than they do patience.

They are looking for X pen. And they want it in the mail to them Tomorrow. That is the market the restorer who keeps stock on hand and has a web presence is looking for.

There is to many people some $ value in being able to pick the pen they are looking for "off the shelf" and being done with it.

Perhaps the better statement would have been it's overpriced to someone who doesn't have to have it TODAY and is willing to be patient in finding the pen they want.

Bruce in Ocala, Fl

Here is the same pen somewhat recently sold by our own Thomas Bickham.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Parker-51-Blue-Diamond-Vacumatic-GOLD-FILLED-CAP-RESTORED-amp-READY-TO-USE-/311187172779