Blue Recommendation And 54Th Massachusetts In Twsbi 580!

Bornin1992

After much debating, I have decided to purchase a TWSBI 580 for my next pen.

Is anyone using 54th Massachusetts in their TWSBI demonstrators? Does it stain?

Also, any recommendations for a nice rich, dark blue with character? What I am looking for is an ink that is exciting but still conservative, if that is not too much to ask for! I have been using Pilot Namiki Blue for around three months and it seriously lacks excitement!

I will be using the ink in a TWSBI clear demonstrator and it needs to be waterproof!

Cheers! :)

Edited by Bornin1992

Jinhao X750, Wing Sung 601 (F), Pilot Metropolitan (M), TWSBI ECO (M), Sheaffer 300 (M), Faber-Castell Carbon Basic (M), (2) Pelikan M200 (F), Pilot Custom 74 (F), Platinum 3776 ( B ), Lamy 2000,(2) FPR Himalaya #5.5 (Fine, medium, broad, flex nibs), Parker 51 (M), Esterbrook J (2556)

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• amberleadavis

• Bornin1992

• SeeksAdvice

• Buzz_130

54th Massachusetts doesn't stain. You can go ahead and use the ink without worries.

With regards to blue, there are a few fully waterproof blue inks: I'd recommend using:

R&K Salix: Iron gall ink, amazing color but i find it a bit too muted for my tastes

Noodler's Baystate Blue: Stains like crazy, but this blue is by far the most magnificent!! It's waterproof too.

Noodler's Liberty's Elysium: Wonderful true blue color, moderately waterproof/semi-bulletproof. Available exclusively on Goulet pens

Other fully waterproof alternatives for blues which i use include: Noodler's Legal Lapis, Noodler's Bad Blue Heron (is amongst my favourites and i recommend looking into the color) & Noodler's Bad Belted Kingfisher.

Hope this helps!

Edited by kmd001

Does ot need yo be waterproof or just water fast?

Fountain pens are my preferred COLOR DELIVERY SYSTEM (in part because crayons melt in Las Vegas).