Esterbrook J? ...stumped...

gweimer1

I got this one in the mail today. I'm not quite sure what it is, and I haven't found one like it in any of the reference pages I've searched. It's kind of like a Safari, but not quite. It looks more like a newer J, but the cap puzzles me. Smaller lever bar, logo stamped around the barrel (the eBay pic showed that looking like scratches), and a cap with a very different clip.

What do the experts say?

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b170/gweimer/Esterbrook_J_New_Black_zpsa6ab3c0c.jpg

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• gweimer1

• antoniosz

• FarmBoy

• OcalaFlGuy

Well, I am no expert, but the body looks like a Deluxe. But, the Deluxes (as far as I know) had metal caps. Cap sort of looks Safari-ish, but I always thought they had thinner cap bands. What does it look like in profile?

Jeff

That's what I see - It's like one pen, then like another, but nothing solid.

The pen is 5 1/4" long capped, a little on the slender side like an LJ, and the metal rings on each end are a little wider than the normal Esterbrook J pens.

This is one of the very late LJs that have the strange clip and lever.

IIRC from previous discussion, they are documented. I seem to remember someone (Brian, Antoniosz...) posting a catalog shot.

My recollection is that they were made in the standard six J-family colors.

Best, greg

Don't feel bad. I'm old; I'm meh about most things.

That's cool!

Fountain pens are my preferred COLOR DELIVERY SYSTEM (in part because crayons melt in Las Vegas).

Create a Ghostly Avatar and I'll send you a letter. Check out some Ink comparisons: The Great PPS Comparison 

Don't know where to start?  Look at the Inky Topics O'day.  Then, see inks sorted by color: Blue Purple Brown Red Green Dark Green Orange Black Pinks Yellows Blue-Blacks Grey/Gray UVInks Turquoise/Teal MURKY

The same clip appears on an Esterbrook .... felt tip...