Why An Inner Cap At All For Esterbrook Pens?

spaceink

So I was looking to removed a broken jewel, and according to instructions I found here, I should first remove the inner cap.

Not wanting to spend a large sum on a proper inner cap removal tool, as I'm not a pro, I used a method using a 5/16 bolt to "thread" itself and then carefully pull out. It worked fine on the donor pen but on the other pen cap, the much more brittle pen cap simply disintegrated.

Oh no, I thought. But then I asked myself, why is this inner cap needed at all. In other pens, the inner cap helps to secure the section and barrel to the cap. With Esterbrook pens, I can screw in the barrel to the cap and it won't slide out, no inner cap apparently needed.

So, does this mean, I will not need to replace the inner cap then?

Edited by spaceink

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• OcalaFlGuy

• spaceink

• FarmBoy

• pajaro

It's my understanding that the inner cap keeps the nib from drying out, or at least it retards the drying out of the nib. I suppose you can try using the pen without the inner cap. If the nib dries up too quickly, you will need a new inner cap. Good luck.

"Don't hurry, don't worry. It's better to be late at the Golden Gate than to arrive in Hell on time."
--Sign in a bar and grill, Ormond Beach, Florida, 1960.

Too bad you didn't ask or do more searching before you started pulling.

There are tricks to maximize your success chances doing what you did.

Especially if I'm removing the damaged jewel, I wouldn't pull the inner cap to get the jewel off, I'd do it with a razor blade.

Bruce in Ocala, Fl

Edited by OcalaFlGuy

Doesn't the inner cap keep the nib from running into the top of the cap, or is that just for other brands and doesn't apply for Esterbooks?

Sun%20Hemmi2.jpg

Use the inner cap from the jewel donor.

Best to soak the cap a bit before attempting a removal. Heat (lots of it on the inner cap) helps.