Nib Choices, Which Way Do I Go?

Ian the Jock

Ok, so I'm new to FPs, (3 pens, and 1 put away for christmas from my wife) but like everyone else when starting, I just want to buy pens, pens, pens, however, I got into a discussion on another thread, about "flex" and decided I wanted to have a go.

With money I will be receiving at Christmas I had decided on getting a flex nib pen or something with a nib that can allow a litter more creativity.

My budget won't be high as I want to get some inks etc as well so I have been looking at pens around the £20-£25 mark. (still a ridiculous amount of money for a pen, according to my wife)

On reading the forums, the noodlers ahab seems to be the initial "weapon of choice" for those looking to go down this route, however, I'm not really sure about the looks of the ahab (aesthetics right, or wrong will play a large part in the building of my collection) although there are other noodlers pens for around the same price (£20) which might fit the bill.

I had settled on a noodlers pen of some description, until while raking around online, I found a Manuscript Master Italic pen, which I've pictured below.

This pen has a 1.1 italic nib where the broad line and appearance certainly suits my taste more than the Ahab.

I am now left with the question of "which would be best"?

Am I correct in assuming that with the flex nib, the variation is produced by applying varying pressure while writing causing the tines to spread and lay down a wider/thicker/varied line. Whereas with the italic nib, changing the angle at which you hold the pen when writing produces the variation, which if correct, would make it more of a "tricky gig" for a newcomer to produce decent results, compared with the Ahab, which would be a bit easier as applying more or less pressure would seem easier than changing the angle.