Inks That Cause Repairs.

Shrimpi

Or put another way. I have been using Noodlers Bullet Proof for two years from one of several bottles. I do not see any mold or such. I was once told not to use Noodlers, which Noodlers claims to be a lubricating ink, and therefore good for pens. I even do something worse. I use the same pens for weeks, only refilling the pen. I may not write a lot, but I refill the pen at least twice a week. Seems to work well for my Parker 51's, and similar model Hero Pens.

As I am about to start using a new Lamy 2000 EF, I though I would ask both about whether I should replace the inks I have. I have several bottles of different inks of different colors/manufacturers that are five years old.

Would the Pen Repair guys like to comment on inks in general.

I hope I have not posted this in the wrong place. It is more about repair issues than ink in terms of color, what to buy, which is what the ink forum seems about.

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Sinistral1

• FarmBoy

• OcalaFlGuy

• inkstainedruth

I believe that most members who come and comment on this thread will say that 5 years old is nothing for ink. I have inks that are much older than that and I don't worry about them unless they either start to smell odd or I see anything wrong with them.

Some highly saturated inks might potentially cause more damage, especially to steel nibs, than inks that are less saturated. By far the best way to keep your inks and your pens free of problems is to flush out your pens regularly rather than just re-inking them in the same ink without flushing water through the feed. It's good practice to do this, and will make your pens and maybe even your inks last longer.