Question About The Parker Sonnet

Telebooger

I am new to fountain pens, so now that's out of the way. I have a new Parker Sonnet, and having problems. I can fill it with ink and get it writing just fine, then when I pick it up the next day, I cannot get it writing. I even take it over to the sink and push the plunger down and spew ink out of the nib, and then it will begin writing, but with heavy skipping. I have speedball blue ink as well as Waterman serenity blue ink. Do I have to empty and fill this pen every time I want to use it? I really want to experience writing with fountain pens and I have to break through this issue first.

Bruce

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• torstar

• Telebooger

• writewright

• Yehenara

some on here proclaim the Sonnet to be the greatest pen they ever owned

others feel quite the opposite

(i'm in the latter camp and threw the thing out)

at least in the old days they cut holes in the cap so you could have a whistle toy

Sonnet is known to have starting problems, there are some topics on FPN about. Some people made the end of its cap air-tight with wax. I do not know if so you could solve the problem. If the FP is new and in warranty, I'd send it to be serviced.

Did you buy it new? You should be able to get it repaired under warranty, as that's not normal behaviour.

My Sonnet starts up fine each time I use it.

Parker 75, Ingenuity, Premier, Sonnet, Urban | Pelikan M400 | TWSBI Diamond 580 | Visconti Rembrandt

Currently inked: Diamine Apple Glory (Rembrandt), Pelikan 4001 Turquoise (M400), Lamy Black (Diamond 580)