Learning Copperplate

PenmanMatt

So I've just started learning to use a Dip Pen. I picked up a few books, an oblique holder, and a bunch of nibs. At the moment I'm using Hunt Imperial (101) since they are the easiest to get. This is my very first attempt. Needless to say it looks grim...

post-117459-0-55996200-1414177320_thumb.jpg

I'm using Speedball Super Black India Ink, Hunt 101, and Strathmore smooth surface parchment paper.

Any tips are REALLY appreciated.

Cheers,

Matt

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• PenmanMatt

• Randal6393

• larsenproject

• MusinkMan

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Tips:

1) Go to www.iampeth.com and look around the site for books, examples, and VIDEOS. The vids are how I learned Copperplate. Great material and well worth studying.

2) Try a few different inks. Get some gum arabica and add a bit to a small vial of ink to see what gum arabica does to make the ink perform better. Experimenting is the name of the game.

3) Try a variety of papers. John Neal Booksellers is a good place to shop for papers, inks, pens, holders, etc. Again, experiment to see what you like.

4) Concentrate on having fun. It's worthless unless you are having fun.

Enjoy,

Yours,
Randal

From a person's actions, we may infer attitudes, beliefs, --- and values. We do not know these characteristics outright. The human dichotomies of trust and distrust, honor and duplicity, love and hate --- all depend on internal states we cannot directly experience. Isn't this what adds zest to our life?

I actually have an order on the way from John Neal Booksellers. Can't wait for it to get here! Thanks for the suggestions Randal.