Wh Smith "the Seal Pen" Section Hard Rubber? Open With What Temperature?

anaglyphos

Hi!

This is partly a specific question and partly a general one.

I got two WH Smith BCHR Seal Pens, one without clip, one with clip. The one without is open, so I know the section is friction fit. The one with clip has a section I have not yet managed to open.

Could someone please tell me what material the sections of these pens are made of? I would guess probably of hard rubber. Since I am only a beginner in this whole field of fountain pens, I am absolutely not sure about this.

Here comes the general part of the question into play:

To what temperatures may I heat hard rubber sections/barrels to help open them (using a heatgun with regulated temperature)?

Also: To what temperature may I heat hard rubber to have it regain its original form? Concerning the re-setting of a feed I have read that the temperature should be short of boiling, and so far I have done that with the hottest water from the tap (steaming a little) - which worked well. But that could maybe also be done using the heatgun as well as other things like getting rid of some dent impressions on one of the pens....

I am greatful for your help. So far I got two pens restored, one of them a Mentmore Autoflow where I got no helpful advise at all. I think I managed anyway. Seems, that bug of restoring pens got me somehow ;)

Thanks!

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• anaglyphos

• balson

• GG917

• Orrell Post

Top Posters In This Topic

OK, finally it came apart. So here is the recipe. Get yourself some charming old black and white murder mystery film and while watching, fiddle away with the pen for 90 minutes, gently gently wiggling and unscrewing. When the film ends go to the heatgun, set it at 70° C and after a few minutes the section comes free :) . Before that he heatgun alone, at this moderate temperature, had not achieved anything. Seems to be the combination.