Phantom Of The Opera Wax Seal - Is This Possible?

SunFly

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting here on this site.

I am a snail-mail writer, so things related to snail-mailing interest me greatly. And there is one wax seal stamp that has been keeping me awake for days.

I came across the movie "The Phantom of the Opera" (2004), and while watching it, the wax seal stamp that Erik (the phantom) used intrigued me. It's a skull, but it's 3D.

Is it possible to make such wax seal stamp? I asked the person whom I went to make a few wax seals before, but she said it's not possible for her to make it that 3D. She said that someone must have "sculpted" the skull from wax instead of stamping it.

Can anyone with seal stamp experience share their knowledge?

post-117449-0-14200000-1414162060_thumb.png

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• SunFly

• saskia_madding

• RMN

• siopaopei

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I have a wax seal that's really deep. not that deep, but deep. Honestly. it's completely impractical. The amount of wax needed to get even a remotely good imprint is crazy! not only that, it's hard to get the wax to go vertically like that in order to get such a deep impression. the more hot wax you pour on, the wider the wax dollop is on the envelope. It doesn't expand upwards with more hot wax, just outwards.

That was what I thought too, Saskia; that it will use a ridiculous amount of wax and it might be quite impossible to gather the wax vertically. Perhaps I should send the screenshots of the movie scene. Erik made it seem pretty effortless when he stamped that envelope. And the blob of wax he poured onto the letter was not much either.

Maybe the theory that it's sculpted instead of stamped could be true. The movie production people do magic all the time, after all.

Bummer. But I do hope one day a seal stamp like that could be created.

post-117449-0-38200000-1414168384_thumb.png