Yet Another Lamy 2000 Review

The Keeper

"Dear god, not another Lamy 2000 review" you must think. Well, I thought that too ! However I find interesting to see the consistency of the reviews over time. I've noticed that there are review on this forum of this very pen from 2008, 2010, etc. So, in my opinion, it's interesting to have another one, especially since Lamy said they reworked on the Lamy 2000 nib a few years ago. Be aware that I'm still a newbie to the fountain pen world, I've been using for 3 years a cheap cartridge waterman and a Twsbi 580 since this summer. Concerning, the review, there will be no pictures nor handwriting scans as I don't have anything to take decent pictures. I've bought this pen at pengallery as it was the cheapest, it just arrived today (just 4 days from Malaysia !) and I've been playing with it for some hours now but enough talking, let's get down to the actual review.

Appearance and design : 9,5/10 10/10

Oh boy ! What a beauty ! I'm a fan of bauhaus design and this pen is pretty much the epitome of it ! It's elegant, modern and functional, what could you ask more ? The material is quite interesting to the touch, not your typical plastic body and I find it very pleasing. The machining is just brilliant, it's very neat and tightly machine, it screams german quality.

The design in itself is genious, the round lines that follow the curve of the nib, the metal part at the front creating a nice touch, contrasting with the black makrolon body are things that make the Lamy 2000 a design masterpiece I could write pages on the design itself but I'm not proficient enough in english to do so.

The cap system is quite nice, there is some kind of spring mechanism to secure the cap. Some people warned against the two metal pieces that are on both side of the pen to secure the cap as they would be uncomfortable for some people but they're so small you don't even feel them.