When Did Print Take Over Cursive?

andreasn

When did printing take over cursive handwriting and why did it happen. I don't see a reason for it, cursive is just as easy to write when you get used to it, just as easy to read when you get used to it and looks a lot better.

and I don't believe it was because of computers, after all the had been printed books for a very long time.

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• knarflj

• gwyneddd

• Parjanya

• mirosc

As children we are all taught to print first then later to write in cursive. It seems to be a trend of late that schools don't teach cursive anymore so the originally taught skill of printing would then begin to become dominate. In my case, I had a horrible cursive handwriting that could hardly be deciphered including by myself! When I went to university as an engineer, I had to fall back to a very formal printed handwriting for drafting and lab reports and got quite good at writing quickly that way. It helped my ability to read my own notes greatly and I'm sure aided me in graduating. For many years I stuck with what worked and printed most of what I wrote. When I found fountain pens, I also found that I could actually write in a decent cursive using a fountain pen. So cursive writing now dominates in my writing.

PAKMAN

minibanner.gif                                    Vanness-world-final.png.c1b120b90855ce70a8fd70dd342ebc00.png

My Favorite Pen Restorer                                             My Favorite Pen Store

Vanness Pens - Selling Online!

In the seventies and eighties as class sizes increased in US public schools.

I remember two of my sixth grade teachers talking about it. They were grading papers and complaining how the. Both had a stack a foot thick to go through. One of them showed the other a page and said, "This kid prints. You know what? I'm not going to make him stop. I can read it and it doesn't strain my eyes."