Clearning A Pen

SkylarKnight

Hello :)

I have not used my pens in a month or so, and I found that all but 2 have had the ink dry in the feed and nib. I remember reading that to clean pens like that you should leave the feed and nib in hot\warm water for a few hours, but I am not sure of that. All of my pens are Chinese except the Lamy (which also seems to be dried out ">>), and I am afraid of ruining the feed and nib if I do so. Could someone instruct me on the cleaning process? thank you :)

http://img525.imageshack.us/img525/606/letterji9.png
Hey! I'm Skylar! I am quite new to all of this, but am a very friendly person :3
If you wanna exchange snail-mail, my 'about me' in on page 51 on the snail mail list, and if you like what you see - pm me!

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• SkylarKnight

• estie1948

• Randal6393

• dragos.mocanu

I would only ever use cold or lukewarm not hot water. Then you should be safe enough.

You will need to flush them through after soaking

There's no chance of ruining a pen if you soak it in cold/lukewarm water..don't use hot water though! If your pens are C/C, invest in a bulb syringe, it's very effective at flushing this type of pen:

"The truth may be puzzling. It may take some work to grapple with. It may be counterintuitive. It may contradict deeply held prejudices. It may not be consonant with what we desperately want to be true. But our preferences do not determine what's true..." (Carl Sagan)

Thanks, I will soak them overnight.

I would get a bulb syringe, but I cannot do it just yet - paycheck is late, and I have some stuff I need to sort out first. I have a normal medical syringe though, and it does the job with flushing if I ever need that :)

Hey! I'm Skylar! I am quite new to all of this, but am a very friendly person :3
If you wanna exchange snail-mail, my 'about me' in on page 51 on the snail mail list, and if you like what you see - pm me!

Thanks, I will soak them overnight.