Possible Solution For The Custom Clips

Well they're not here yet, but they should be here in the end of month. I've been looking for a way to make my own clips, but it has been difficult to do until recently. About a month ago, I accidentally found a 3D printing company called Shapeways. Their service is straight forward and reasonable enough for my budget. The best part is that the order can be made entirely online.
There are excellent free 3D programs available online. I'm using Blender, an excellent program you can get for free! You can download it from their web site. I have had some experience with other 3D programs a decade ago, but leaning Blender took a while because of the interface deference.
A clip is relatively simple shape, so it's not too difficult to make one if you know the basics of using a 3D program (I haven't used 3D program for a decade so took a little while). I'm excited but I don't expect actual products to be as slick as the computer generated images, but hope to get acceptable result.
Unlike plastics, they can't directly print in metal, rather they are printed in special wax then, the traditional way of lost wax casting is used to produce the final form in metal. I ordered in stainless steel, polished gold plated steel, polished nickel plated steel, row brass and row bronze for testing. Total $67.41 include tax and shipping.
I know there are folks who use 3D program to design their pens so those folks should be able to take advantage of it or may be they've already done it. However, folks who doesn't know 3D program has an opportunity too if you are willing to spend time to lean free 3d programs.
So wish me a luck for my 3D printing venture and stay tuned for real clips in a few weeks!

Yoshi

fpn_1413334564__clip_cg.jpg

fpn_1413334612__pen_clip.jpg

Edited by 18111

I can't believe I'm making fountain pens! pen.18111.com

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• richardandtracy

• Carl Fisher - F3 Pens