Fountain Pen Leak Problems?

beezaur

Hello everyone,

I am new to fountain pens, and love them already. I got a few pens for starters: some Lamy Safaris and a Waterman Phileas. These are for my desk using various inks -- I have some Bullet Proof Noodler's on the way.

I would like to carry a fountain pen in my shirt pocket, but I am worried about leaks.

How big a deal is leaking? What causes it? What can be done (besides plastic pocket protectors) to prevent ruining a shirt?

Scott

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• jkrewalk

• beezaur

• jar

• speculator

Hello and welcome to the wonderful world of fountain pens! Neither of these pens should ever leak unless they are defective. I have many pens and carry them not only in my shirt pockets but also in the pocket of my suits. I have never had a problem

Good pens should never leak - and both Lamy and Waterman are great dependale pens. Great choice!

I own both those pens, too, and no leaks. In fact, no fountain pen I have owned has ever leaked. It seems like the concept of a leaky fountain pen is a relic from a bygone era when leaking really was a problem, but the stereotype persists nevertheless.

You could use a non-waterproof ink if you were really concerned.

I've had two pens trash my shirts. Both times it was because the cap separated (unscrewed) from the rest of the pen, which promptly fell to the bottom of the pocket. Osmosis took care of the rest. sad.gif

bt

If it was a problem then, why not now? Different mechanisms?

Being in western WA, I do change elevations quite a bit. My desk is at about 200 feet above sea level. I have gone to ~3000 ft and back in one day before. Not sure if that matters. . .

Scott

Yes - in the beginning days of the fountain pen leaks were common. LE Waterman (the guy whose name is on your Phileas) is credited with developing the first non leaking fountain pen. Even so, as pens became more popular, many brands would leak.