Vintage Koh-I-Noors--Where To Start?

takkun

Hi everyone!

As I mentioned in my (re)introduction to the site, I was bequeathed a number of technical pens by my mother, a former illustrator. I'm an architecture graduate student who does a lot of hand-drafting, so it's a fun bit of goodies and a step up from felt-tip Pentels I've been using.

What was given to me was a complete boxed set of the 3065s, circa 1970, with cartridge-style filling, and even a mostly-full bottle of ink and cleaning fluid, along with a couple of loose piston-filling 3060s. Those, unfortunately, have trashed nibs, and I can't really figure out if the filler knob is coming loose or not.

So far I've taken all the sections apart and am soaking them in Rapido-eze. Some have flats to take the nib unit out of the section, while others seem to have a conical end and no provisions for disassembly.

So what ought I be doing to get these in workable shape? Are the self-fillers salvageable?

I also was given a Pelikan Graphos dip pen set with a tremendous array of nibs, but that's for another day.

10 years on PFN! I feel old, but not as old as my pens.

Inked up: Wing Sung 618 - BSB / PFM III - Kiri-same / Namiki Falcon - Storia Fire / Lamy 2000 - Fuyu-gaki / Sheaffer Triumph - Eclat de Saphir

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• takkun

• cpmcnamara

• brewsky

• Fox Point

I can't offer much here in terms of restoration, but have a newer set and generally like them. Soaking in rapidoeze has solved all problems I've run into, though with a set so old, dealing with acrylic ink, I'm not sure if anything is guaranteed.

Have you seen the bulb syringe that Koh-i-noor sells? It can help force rapidoeze through the nibs if soaking doesn't work.

They also have jewel tipped nib replacements that resist wear better than the stock versions. I'm not sure if the piston fillers can take a newer nib or not.