How To Find Fountain Pen Shows In The Pacific Nw

miatagrrl

Hello! This so-called "frequently asked questions" section seems kind of idiosyncratic, :-) and I guess I'll add my idiosyncracy, since I can't figure out where else to ask this. (Please forgive me if it's been asked a hundred times before--I really did try to search first.) How can I find out if there is a pen show within 150 miles from me (Seattle)? Conversely, is there a pen show anywhere in the world that is worth getting on a plane for? I'm not a professional or even a serious collector -- just would like some eye candy and geek time with other pen geeks.

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• miatagrrl

• FarmBoy

• Ecriveur

• SockAddict

Top Posters In This Topic

When you find out, hollar. Seattle had one some years back but nothing recently. I would love one here in Portland, but I will gladly roll I-5 to Seattle for one.

The two biggest pens show in the US are the LA and DC Pen Shows. Maybe you should plan a trip to Southern California. It's being held February 12-15 at the Manhattan Beach Marriott. I just got my first mailing about it. The DC Show isn't until August. San Francisco is also having a pen show in August, but it's not as big as the LA and DC shows.

Here's the link to the LA Show.

http://www.lainternationalpenshow.com/

Susan Wirth maintains a list of all the US pen shows. Here is a link to that.

Pen Show Schedule

Hope you get to attend one. They are lots of fun.

Edited by sharon888

• 3 months later...

I decided I am going to the L.A. show next month! It will be my first time at any pen show, and I'm not sure what to expect. I was told there might be an FAQ or some other document related to "how to shop at a pen show," but I haven't been able to find anything like that. Suggestions?