Parker Jack Knife #20 Restoration Questions - My First

LargeSofa

Hi - I am moving my inquiry over to the repair section. I have a parker jack knife, it is my first attempt at a re-sac and self repair. I got the button and pressure bar out, just tonight got the nib section off with my heat gun. Probably done for tonight until I answer some questions on my next steps (maybe polish up the bar).

1) How should I clean the inside of the barrel? I know not to soak it, that's for sure. Should I just wipe it out with a damp qq tip or paper towel, using simply water?

2) the nib section threads have a bunch of shellac remaining on it, what is best way to remove this crud? should I clean it up with Naptha (I don't have any or even know where to buy at this point)?

3) there is crud around the nib neck - where the sac attaches. I scarped most of it away with my fingernail, but it is by no means clean. How should I clean this up?

4) I plan to flush the nib section using my bulb suction "tool". should I just use straight water for this? I have JB pen flush too... I have never written with the pen, so don't know how clogged it is.

5) why is the nib section shellaced in place? it screws in tight - new pens with converters are not sealed. just wondering.

thank you for the help. very exciting for a fp lover.

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• kirchh

• Sasha Royale

• LargeSofa

• Ink Blotto

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

1) How should I clean the inside of the barrel? I know not to soak it, that's for sure. Should I just wipe it out with a damp qq tip or paper towel, using simply water?

2) the nib section threads have a bunch of shellac remaining on it, what is best way to remove this crud? should I clean it up with Naptha (I don't have any or even know where to buy at this point)?