Do You Use Several Nib Sizes?

SkylarKnight

Just wondering how everyone prefers their nibs.

I love my F, EF and XEF 's, but I own a medium and a.. broad? I believe.. I use my broad a bit because I just love the pen so much, but the medium is a bit... wrong for me? I dunno, I just find it not very comfortable for use. I suppose I might use it if I decide to write bigger letters, and when practicing (much more comfortable to trace lines with an M nib), but less for day to day writing.

What about you? Do you use more than one size? Do you go out of your comfort zone or stay in?

Forgive my very weird way of explaining myself, but I just happened to forget some words and be way too tired to pay much attention..

http://img525.imageshack.us/img525/606/letterji9.png
Hey! I'm Skylar! I am quite new to all of this, but am a very friendly person :3
If you wanna exchange snail-mail, my 'about me' in on page 51 on the snail mail list, and if you like what you see - pm me!

• Replies 81
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• SkylarKnight

• KBeezie

• Sandy1

• WateryFlow

Japanese F,EF,XEF or Western F,EF,XEF?

For me I tend to prefer Japanese F to Medium, in *some* cases EF (Japanese F~M = Western EF~F).

But I do on occasion use my 1.5 stub (1.9 gets a bit too large for what I'd use a stub for).

Western Medium is roughly the larges I'd want to use for everyday usage. I tend to write small, as a result the strokes can get all overlapped together too much if it's too big a stroke.

Edited by KBeezie

The lowest I go is F, unless I'm editing a chapter where I sometimes use a western EF, if I think of it.

I often use a F, will use a M for normal scribbling....like B or those in a tad flexible oblique.

I have and use OBB's also...but they are vintage like most of my nibs and 1/2 a width narrower than modern. An OB is a writing nib in vintage not a signature nib.