Nib Grinding

SkylarKnight

Hello!

I recently had Art grind me a couple nibs as he offered in a pif, and I'm loving my stubs :)

Now I wanna learn how to grind my nibs myself, since I have a cheap pen I wanna turn into an EF italic cursive (is that even possible?) (The pen is already EF - Hero 529 that writes too well for the price).

I am a nail tech so I have an efile that I could use for this purpose. I mostly use rougher metal bits for acrylic nails, but I also use sanding bands that are fine enough to be used on natural nails (if anyone knows what a zebra file is, that's what I use), and I have a super fine polishing sponge buffer, as well as a worn out block buffer. Do you think I could get away with these? And perhaps someone could walk me through the steps \ show me a video \ article, since I haven't found anything?

Any help and tips will be appreciated.

Edited by SkylarKnight

http://img525.imageshack.us/img525/606/letterji9.png
Hey! I'm Skylar! I am quite new to all of this, but am a very friendly person :3
If you wanna exchange snail-mail, my 'about me' in on page 51 on the snail mail list, and if you like what you see - pm me!

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• SkylarKnight

• dcwaites

• FarmBoy

• pajaro

An EF-Stub or EF-Italic is possible. I'd go with not the place to start learning nib grinding. Because on an EF there is very little tipping left on the nib the margin for error is equally small.

The foam buffing sticks are likely to soft to get a good flat surface as they tend to mold around the nib. If you are going the stationary route order some MicroMesh lapping sheets and work on a solid surface.

Start by studying the shape of the nib under magnification. If you have access to a stereo microscope that is where you should start. Once you think you know what it should look like, draw a picture of it in your mind and work out how you will get there from the nib shape you have.

FB