Highly Dislike The Pilot Varsity; Should I Try Another Fountain Pen?

donovan1983

First of all, I'd like to say this place is quite a treasure trove of information! I've learned a ton in just a few days.

For a few months I've been searching for a better pen to use. I'm a student and sometimes need to write a large amount and the ultra-cheap pens I've used just don't work well for that. Those that I have to press down with to write solidly are noticeably worse for fatigue and cramping. I've tried a few pens and am still searching and I thought I'd give fountain pens a shot. The Pilot Varsity seem to be recommended a lot for beginners and I picked some up a couple days ago.

The good parts are that they require virtually no downward pressure to write with, are fairly smooth, and force me to be less sloppy with how I write. That's where the good points end for me. The ink is simply awful with tons of feathering and soaking through the paper. The lines are very thick and compete with the "bold" size of rollerball and ballpoint pens. I am using cheap notebook filler paper since I use a large volume of it and need to keep costs down, but even on my nicer 24lb printer paper the results are still terrible.

Is it worthwhile for me to consider giving a shot to another fountain pen or are fountain pens just not suitable for how I'm going to use them? I have read some reviews about inks that seem to handle cheap paper much better and the Japanese fine and European extra-fine nib sizes appear to be just about the right thickness.

Thanks very much in advance for any advice!

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• KBeezie

• donovan1983

• ac12

• tinysnail

Top Posters In This Topic

It sounds like your issues with the Varsities are mostly with the ink and fair broad nib, while you like the aspects of the Varsity that have to do with it being a fountain pen in general, which is a good sign!