Montblanc Carrera Worth Buying?

gammada

Hello,

I would like to know your opinion on the value of a vintage Montblanc Carrera pen that is in an apparent good condition. The seller is offering a yellow barrel/ black cap model that uses cartridges. There's no box, or manuals or anything like that.

I've been unable to see photos of the nib but the seller states that is in good condition (medium) and I will be able to test this in his presence.

He wants $100 for this pen. Do you think it is worth it?

I'm new to fountain pen collectorship and so far I've only own a Parker Vector and a Lamy Safari and -pending repair- a Cross Century Classic from the '80s.

I want a pen that I could use while at my home office with the occasional outing to see clients.

My other question is, how hard or easy is it to find cartridges for this pen?

Thanks!

post-115758-0-60327300-1408569041.jpg

post-115758-0-74768200-1408569051.jpg

post-115758-0-13177500-1408569068.jpg

post-115758-0-65195100-1408569084.jpg

• Replies 58
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• gammada

• meiers

• bunny roller

• jar

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I have seen them on penboard.de (no affiliation) for around $90-$100. If it's in good condition and you like the way it writes I think $100 isn't that bad...if you were buying it online from an unknown seller I probably wouldn't pay much more than $75 since penboard.de tends to sell things at a (generally justified) premium.

Most any International cartridge will fit. The Carrera was an entry level/student pen and usually they are very reliable and nice writers.

My Website

Thank you very much for your feedback. I'm setting up an appointment with the seller to check the pen inside out and then decide if it's really worth it.