Scientific Notebooks From The Past

LisaN

On a recent trip to Philadelphia, my mother, my husband and I stumbled across the Chemical Heritage Museum. It is a small museum full of historical instrumentation, artifacts and apparati, most of which was involved in Nobel Prize winning research. Because I am a chemist, I was like a kid in a candy store, looking at all of these things that were used by my heroes, explaining it all to my mom.

For me, the best were the notebooks. Nowadays, we do not use fountain pens much in research notebooks, because of the water issues. But of course, back in the day, scientists wrote their notebooks out every day in fountain pen.

This is a photo of Bruce Merrifield's notebook, where he was developing solid phase peptide synthesis methods. He published a paper on it in 1963, and received the Nobel prize in 1984.

post-46058-0-13788100-1408491156_thumb.jpg

Sometimes the cat needs a new cat toy. And sometimes I need a new pen.

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• LisaN

• 1maddog1

• Ink Stained Wretch

• TeaHive

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Historic journals and organizational minutes can be an interesting source of samples of handwriting out of the past. My wife and I had to do some research at our local historical society. We were looking through the minutes of the local school board. The very first entry was from the 1860's. Most likely the secretary was using a dip pen rather than a fountain pen. The penmanship was beautiful, amazing, page after page. Letters from the 20's, 30's and 40's are what got me interested in knowing more about the writing instruments that were used in writing them and eventually my pen collecting.

It looks like Merrifield used a marble covered composition notebook. A visit to that museum is now on my wish list. Thanks for the info.

What do scientists and engineers use as notebooks today?

Walk in shadow / Walk in dread / Loosefish walk / As Like one dead