Ebonite Question

Barry Gabay

Good morning,

This is a serious though perhaps a dumb question. Am I compromising my ebonite fountain pens by using them outside in direct sunlight on very hot days? I love being outside on such days. Not concerned about fading, but damage to the ebonite's integrity. In particular, I worry about my ebonite King of Pens, plus very old BHR Watermans and RHR Parkers. They feel quite warm to the touch after an hour or so outside. When writing, I keep the paper covered in blotter, so I don't perspire all over it and run the ink. Also keep the pens shaded by a book or paper when not in my hand. I'm describing days of 90-100+ F in the US. Thanks in advance.

Have a nice weekend. Best wishes, Barry

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• stan

• Barry Gabay

• shuuemura

• maverink

I am not an expert, but I believe fading is the only real danger. Ebonite pens – some of them – have been in use for 100 years. A couple days ago I accidentally dropped my favorite app and night and onto the hardwood floor – no damage, of course. YMMV

"how do I know what I think until I write it down?"

The only real issue is fading. And burping of course.

When it's that hot all I think about is a cold drink.

i use indian ebonite pens in the hot climate of india no damage to the pens till date have no fear...

Pilot custom heritage 74 all nibs, 742 Fa and PO nibs, 823 F 92 F,M, 3776 FM,EF,1911F

And all indian pens

Prolonged exposure to ultraviolet light light causes ebonite to turn brown. Note I said prolonged.

From what I have noticed, urushi can deteriorate from prolonged exposure too.

Too many times i have seen bubbling and flaking in urushi, almost always on the brown side of the ebonite.

Whether this is due to chemical reaction in the ebonite as it changes color or urushi failure, i do not know.