Matching Ink Color In A Generic Cartridge

penswordnoassemblyrequired

I am a complete newbie to the details of fountain pens and inks although when I lost my job years ago I bought a MB Slimline as a treat. Some time later I picked up a box of replacement cartridges--it was probably at the Walmart in Wichita, I know, I said I was a newbie--and I like the color very much. Through much googling I found more of the same cartridges with no brand name for the ink, just the appellation Summer Blue.

http://www.xfountainpens.com/collections/ink-cartridges/products/international-standard-summer-blue-ink-cartridges

It looks like a substantial blue leaning toward the green side. They say it's light blue but it's medium to me. The age of the cartridges may have something to do with it but the two remaining I like the way they are.

What's the best way to find a good ink close to this color? I've used the Goulet (thanks Brian) compare tool, but I get confused.

The Iroshizuku Ku-Jaku seems close (given the expectations that what I see may not be so realistic given monitors, scanners, cameras etc) but gee, at the rate I use up ink, I'll need to live another 100 years to justify that price. How about a nice $15-ish ink?

How do I match either of these inks?

Thanks for any suggestions. It's all a learning experience and a ploy to keep me from doing my work.

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• penswordnoassemblyrequired

• Sandy1

• keo

• Abner C. Kemp

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi,

Kindly consider Noodler's Navajo Turquoise. Here's an array of samples from seven pens on a 24lb laser copy/print paper taken from my Ink Review https://www.fountainpennetwork.com/forum/index.php/topic/220654-noodlers-navajo-turquoise/?p=2334742

http://i783.photobucket.com/albums/yy116/Sandy1-1/FPN_2012/Ink%20Review%20-%20Noodlers%20Navajo%20Turquoise/dcecf4c2.jpg