149 - Service And Cleaning

Komitadjie

So, complete newbie to Montblancs here, guys, and I just had the incredible stroke of luck to come into a nonfunctional 149 in a pen swap with a friend. They described it as "in good shape, but not working," which is a nice, generic kind of malfunction description that could mean darn near anything! So I was rather surprised when it showed up to find it in very nice visual condition, with the usual light surface marking and soforth from a number of years of carry in her purse. This is a mid-70s model, if I am reading things correctly, having a two-tone 14K nib, "Germany" engraved on the back of the clip band, and a plastic thread unit for the filler. There is no serial number or "PIX" mark, but if I am reading things correctly, that is as it should be for this era of pen. (I'll post some photos when I get home tonight, of course!)