Scored My First Parker 51 Today.

mphstteach

Scored my first Parker 51. It is an aeromatic and I was hoping for a vaccumatic, but it wasn't a deal breaker. I am new to dating these and was hoping somebody could give me a rough time period the pen is from. Also, did I overpay? I see 51's going for much different prices. http://www.ebay.com/itm/161382434097?_trksid=p2059210.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

Kind Regards,

Matt

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• OcalaFlGuy

• mphstteach

• Florida Blue

• pajaro

I think the price you paid was very fair. It's a Special, which was an economy model, so that's probably why it didn't sell as high as other 51s.

The Special had a black jewel instead of pearl, an Octanium (steel alloy) nib instead of gold and a polished steel cap instead of the frosted Lustraloy. However, these are just minor cosmetic details as it's still a 51.

The pen might have a date code on the barrel, but I would date it from 1950 until about 1960. The Special came out in 1950, but it was upgraded with a frosted cap in the early 60s.

Parker: Sonnet Flighter, Rialto Red Metallic Laque, IM Chiseled Gunmetal, Latitude Stainless, 45 Black, Duovac Blue Pearl Striped, 51 Standard Black, Vac Jr. Black, 51 Aero Black, 51 Vac Blue Cedar, Duofold Jr. Lapis, 51 Aero Demi Black, 51 Aero Demi Teal, 51 Aero Navy Gray, Duofold Pastel Moire Violet, Vac Major Golden Brown, Vac Deb. Emerald, 51 Vac Dove Gray, Vac Major Azure, Vac Jr. Silver Pearl, 51 Vac Black GF Cap, 51 Forest Green GF cap, Vac Jr. Silver Pearl, Duovac Senior Green & Gold, Duovac Deb. Black, Challenger Black, 51 Aero Midnight, Vac. Emerald Jr., Challenger Gray Pearl, 51 Vac Black, Duofold Int. Black, Duofold Jr. Red.

Matt,

It's a 51 Special

Read about it here:

http://parkerpens.net/parker51.html

2/3 way down the page. IIRC, Specials were not date coded.