Need Ink Recommendation For Office Copy Paper

dylim1

Hey there. I just bought my first fountain pen (Lamy Vista with a fine nib) and haven't invested in my first bottled ink yet. I would need some suggestions on buying inks. I'm a middle school math teacher. I plan to use my fountain pen to grade papers. I'm looking for inks that are suitable to write on office copy paper or regular school notebook paper, doesn't bleed through too much, and affordable since I'll using a lot daily.

I'm looking in the range of turquoise, purple, green and orange. I usually don't like grading in red ink. Does anyone or any teachers here have some good suggestions for me? Or maybe other colors that are not red? Thank you so much.

Edited by dylim1

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• dylim1

• Notgatherox

• MusterMark

• Tessy Moon

Top Posters In This Topic

It writes a bit dry in all of my Lamys, but Pelikan Brilliant Black is cheap and performs well on just about every type of cheap paper my students have ever handed in. Weatherman inks seem to do well on most papers as well. I haven't used their purple to grade before, but their blues have worked quite well for me. (I believe it's the same ink formula with different dyes added.)

It writes a bit dry in all of my Lamys, but Pelikan Brilliant Black is cheap and performs well on just about every type of cheap paper my students have ever handed in. Weatherman inks seem to do well on most papers as well. I haven't used their purple to grade before, but their blues have worked quite well for me. (I believe it's the same ink formula with different dyes added.)

Sounds like a good start to me. I'll start looking into it and find reviews about it. I usually use a purple gel pen to grade but it's become a little boring after some time. So I would like to venture out to other colors and make things interesting.

I was about to suggest Skrip Red until I read that you don't usually grade in red XD