Falling Out Of Love With High-End Pelikans? (Some Thoughts For Students Considering One)

lowfiwhiteguy

So.

I've now owned, in the following order:

Pelikan M800 M
Pelikan M805 F

Pelikan M805 w/ Sorowka 0.45mm CI nib

Pelikan M805 w/ Mottishaw 0.6mm Stub

Pelikan M1000 M

Pelikan M1005 F

Pelikan M1005 Demonstrator F

Pelikan M1005 w/ Binder 0.4mm stub (As of last week)

These are the only pens I've ever owned and used. I loved the quality of the pen bodies, the precision and smoothness of the piston filling system, the ease with which one can (usually) knock out the nib and perform adjustments on their own... But through my experience over the past year and a half as a Pelikan nut, I've started to realise that maybe these pens aren't for me. Here is why:

I am a science student. This is relevant in two ways: Firstly, most of my writing is done in margins, using print, using numbers and symbols, on a wide variety of paper. Of course I own my own quality paper for leisure writing, but I find that as a disciple of engineering, my most enjoyable fountain pen moments are those in which I'm doing actual work and enjoying the pen in the process. My idea of leisure writing is doing a calculus assignment with a FP on Rhodia dotpad. I want a pen that makes my tedious homework more bearable, and allows me to add some conservative yet exciting flair to my work, which my professors have complimented me on. Secondly, being a student means that I am of increasingly limited means since I left the Army to return to my studies.