Student & Fp Friendly Paper

gattmiffin

Hey there guys,

As the title implies I am currently a college student and I am looking for a notebook or any other paper that is both friendly to fountain pens, and friendly to the plight of the poor college student. I know that there is no such thing as a super amazing, greatest ever paper that costs nothing at all, but I feel like there has to be a solid price/ performance paper out there. Basically if any of you have found any decent/ good enough paper that comes in at a reasonable price point, I would love to hear about it from you.

-Matt

Edited by gattmiffin

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• KBeezie

• ac12

• gattmiffin

• David_W

Miquelrius is pretty awesome (a 6 subject notebook lasted me nearly a year but the paper is coated, so a bit slow drying), I've heard good things about Black 'N Red but haven't tried it personally, Mead 5 Star is tolerable if you can stand some feathering and bleeding and use fine nibs, and I know that many people get a lot of mileage out of binders and refillable notebooks (disc bound systems, Mead Flex that uses regular 3 hole punched paper) and reams of nice printer paper, 28lb or 32lb is about the best paper you can get and it's not much money for quite a bit of paper. For super cheap options, sometimes paper made in Brazil (filler paper, composition books) is worth a shot but if feathering or showthrough bothers you even a little bit I'd suggest getting the slightly nicer notebooks because the ease of use is worth it, and a binder, punch and printer paper is probably the best way to get your desired paper quality and price.

Also, there's a bazillion threads on this in this subforum, with many more recommendations out there, try checking through the threads and seeing what else you find.

Edited by WirsPlm

Just to name a couple that I've come across that's been rather friendly even with my wetter nibs, and rather cheap too: