Help Please With Id And Repairs

Larry Barrieau

Hi,

I'm new at this hobby and I bought a Sheaffer pen on ebay hoping to fix it. I paid 18.50 for it. For the record I have only resaced a couple of Esties and put a J bar in one. The Shaeffer has this information on the barrell: W.A. Shaeffer Co. (of Canada Ltd.) Toronto Pat. Dec.10.12-Jan.27-CCC.20-Nov.24.14 Phew! On the nib is :

Sheaffer's 5-30 Made in Canada.

I have a number of questions about it and hope that you can help me. 1. The picture shows the section with what looks like the feed sticking out. Is that what it is and should there be a tube coming off of it? 2. The tines of the nib are crossed. Is it salvageable and is it worth salvaging? Where could I find a replacement niib?

3. What size sac would this take? 4. Any idea how old it is and/or the model?

I'd like to fix this. My wife is from Toronto (we travel back and forth) and that's why I bid on the particular pen. Am I over my newby head on this repair?

I know it's a lot of questions but allow one more please. Where can I find this stuff out without having to bother you guys?

Thanks very much for any help.

Larry

Looking for a black SJ Transitional Esterbrook Pen. (It's smaller than an sj)

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Larry Barrieau

• Ernst Bitterman

• OcalaFlGuy

• irrigger

1) Yup, that's the feed, alright. I think that's the Sheaffer equivalent to Parker's lucky curve feed, if memory serves right. The cracked, black gunk on the lucky-curve end of the section though should be the remnants of the old sac though, that, I can say.

2) Not having fixed a nib in that shape before, I'm not completely sure, but I reckon a good nibmeister and restorer should be able to fix that right up. Otherwise, you could try gently pushing the tines of the nib back into shape, but...It's a delicate job. It's probably salvageable though, all said.