149 Bent Tine And Stuck Piston

luckduck369

I recently joined the forum and enjoyed a lot from reading the posts on the forum. I am a college student in the early 20's started to develop a big interest on fountain pens. After my grandfather heard about this, he gave me his 149. I am really excited because I heard it is a fine nib. I have a BB 149 but felt it is too wide for me as a student.

So I received the pen in the mail today. First I found out that piston nob does not turn. So I assume there is dried ink in there. I used a little force (I am still not sure if I should do that) then the piston started to move. While doing that, I dropped the pen on the wood floor. I want to do nothing but cry!! Now I end up with a bent right tine, a missing fin in the feed, and the nib/feed section is loose. From what I learned in the forum, I decided not to attempt to fix this myself. With the bent tine, I tried to fill the pen with water. The piston moves now, but not smooth. The pen does not suck up a lot of water as my other 149. I don't know if I break anything while try to twist to nob or because I dropped the pen that the system lost suction.

So I really need advice on what I should do in this situation. I have attached a picture of the nib section for your reference. Thanks in advance for all the help I will get here.

-Ruidi

post-110235-0-92993900-1393617682_thumb.jpg

post-110235-0-86725100-1393617693_thumb.jpg

post-110235-0-62524400-1393617702_thumb.jpg

If the picture did not show up, please look at them here. Sorry this is my first time try to put up pictures.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/88355917@N03/12840339785/in/photostream/

Edited by luckduck369

• Replies 44
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• luckduck369

• Chrissy

• novarider

• mirosc

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images