Review: Pelikan M215

TheGreatRoe

Pelikan M215 - Overall: 8.2/10

The story of me and my Pelikan M215 is a rocky one—but ultimately, it’s a story of patience and understanding with an upbeat ending. The week I graduated college I bought myself my first nice pen—a Pelikan rollerball. At the time I knew almost nothing about pens—I got it because it was a nice black marble pattern, thin, and $30. And, wow, did I ever love that pen. I must have used it—almost exclusively—for 10-12 years before I lost it (I suspect it got nicked by my ex, not because she liked the pen, but because she knew I did).

Many years later and I’m getting into fountain pens. With my limited budget I’m trolling ebay once in a while looking for en entry level Pelikan to see if I like it as much as I did my rollerball. And I did. I snagged a M215 for the minimum bid of $66. I suspect the final price was so low because the seller had listed the pen as a “Pelican”.

After a couple of days I hated the pen. It was solid and well-built, but it didn’t write very well. A lot of skipping and hard starts. I persevered with the pen, partially because of my own experience with the brand, and partially because of the way people talk about their Pelikans. But still, it wasn’t a great writer. So I put it away. But I came back to it from time to time because…well…I just really WANTED to like it. And each time I came back to the pen, it worked better. It skipped less. And it didn’t dry start nearly as much.

Now, I know that I didn’t like the pen because it didn’t suit my writing style. I wrote with too heavy a hand. My pens with the stiffer nibs, didn’t mind the heavy hand—but my M215, and my Visconti Dreamtouch nibs didn’t care for it. Ultimately I listened to what the pen was telling me. With a softer touch the skips and hard starts are almost gone, and by watching closely I know that with a heavy hand this nib railroads fairly easily.

http://www.dcroe.com/images/pens/M215_pen.jpg

Appearance: 7/10