Esterbrook Used In Wwii?

cednocon

Dear Esterbrook Collectors,

I am currently working on a short story--a personal graphic novel project--set during the final days of WWII. I understand that there were fountain pens made by Watermans and Mabie Todd that were specifically meant to be used efficiently by servicemen in the trenches. But I am curious to know if there were any stories or records of Esterbrooks that were used on the battlefield? But perhaps someone did--to write letters home or to document his daily life as a soldier in a small journal?

In any case, I'm currently new to collecting Esties and I've yet to explore the brand's entire pen history.

Thanks for your time -- I appreciate any advice on this subject/topic.

Regards.

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• OcalaFlGuy

• LBpens

• Charles Rice

• penrivers

Most soldiers used pencils. Some officers used pens. Pens made for soldiers had the "military clip". This was shorter than regular so that it could be hidden under the flap of a breast pocket. I think it was Sheaffer who started the military clip. The Esterbrooks that soldiers would have used would have been "transitionals". Those are the ones with a single "toaster" jewel on the cap and a flat barrel end without a jewel.

If the facts are right Esterbrook existed before 1939 and after 1945, so you can derive the factoid almost fact that a soldier once wrote a letter with an Esterbrook in the front.

Most soldiers used pencils. Some officers used pens. Pens made for soldiers had the "military clip". This was shorter than regular so that it could be hidden under the flap of a breast pocket. I think it was Sheaffer who started the military clip. The Esterbrooks that soldiers would have used would have been "transitionals". Those are the ones with a single "toaster" jewel on the cap and a flat barrel end without a jewel.