Aurora Firenze Vermeil Fountain Pen With “M” Nib.

BernardB

Hello to all. I’m new on this forum as a poster, but have been a long time lurker. I finally decided to post reviews on some of my pens. In this review I’ll give you some information about my latest pen, the quite rare Aurora Firenze in vermeil (gold plated silver).

As my in laws know I’m always writing with a fountain pen (I’m a lefty and end up with a blue hand whenever I write with a ballpoint), they wanted to give me something special for my recent birthday.

Especially my father in law likes to go completely over the top with this kind of thing and he decided to get me a kind of pen I wasn’t likely to encounter “in the wild”. I’d say he succeeded in that part ;-)

I have been writing with fountain pens for over 20 years. I started with a very small 1918 Pelican that once belonged to my grandmother. Over the years my hands have grown and as I like nice accessories like watches, cufflinks, fountain pens, I have acquired several pens.

After the Pelican I bought a Waterman Le Man in blue with an 18k fine nib. During my time at the university I have even managed to wear out the nib (the point), which has been replaced by Waterman free of cost just after graduation. The new nib was too stiff to my taste, it was very hard to adjust to it after writing with the old one for so many years.

My parents heard me complaining about this and they decided to give me a graduation-gift from Montblanc. Since then one of my favorite pens has been my Montblanc Meisterstück, along with my St. Dupont Lacque de Chine.

Lately I have bought several other pens just for fun. I seem to have a soft spot for the Snorkels by Sheaffer: I bought a refurbished black Sheaffer Snorkel Statesman with palladium-silver conical F-nib and really enjoy it. So much that I even bought another (green) Snorkel last week, which is in the post right now.

Back to the pen that this review is all about: the Aurora Firenze (Florence) in vermeil: