Sailor 9 - Leiji Matsumoto Limited Edition Review

Ashram

Over the years I have been a fan of many Japanese animators and artists so when I heard Leiji Matsumoto was designing a pen for Sailor as a limited edition of 500 pens I was intrigued. His work has always been among my favorites and this pen does not disappoint. It arrived very well packaged with an information booklet, a card with Matusmoto’s drawing, a pen sleeve with logo matching the pen, limited edition ink bottle, and converter. I am not sure if the ink is a limited edition or not as it carries no markings other than the artwork on the cap.

This is my first attempt at a pen review. I had to reduce the file size of the images to fit here so if anyone would like a higher quality version of any of these images PM me. I have tried to cover everything but if I left something out please feel free to ask.

Appearance & Design (10/10)

When I first saw the image of this pen on Sailor’s website I was not entirely sure this design would work for me. I was pleasantly surprised by its organic look and beautiful iridescent blue finish that really catches the light. I have tried my best to capture the finish photographically but it is difficult. The cap and body match perfectly when screwed back together and the clip is a nice complement to the fin designs. The barrel and cap also act to stop the pen from rolling which is useful. The small characters engraved at the top of the cap and cap band add a nice playful character to the pen while not being over the top. The same logo repeats on the nib.

Construction & Quality (10/10)