Franklin Covey/cross Freemont

taeka

I am just getting into fountain pens, and have a few (still not sure how that happened...I was going to buy one and try it out. Now I have three, and two more in the mail...) very inexpensive modern pens that I'm still learning to use. I picked up a $20 Franklin Covey/Cross Freemont pen at an art store this weekend, but I'm struggling with finding information about a converter that may work in this. The Cross converters (green and orange) do not fit at all.

Does anybody have any idea what sort of converter this pen might take, or where I could look to find this information? All of my searches are pointing me toward Cross converters, but I have tried both and they are definitely not workable. There are no threads inside this pen to hold the orange ones, and the opening is much too large for the green.

(Please forgive my photography - my cell phone is the only camera I have right now. And my dogs are still attempting to take over the world one hair at a time.)

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8387/8505154568_3e7dd552ff.jpg

Thank you in advance for any help you might be able to offer.

Edited to add: On a tangent, how does one determine if a pen can be an eyedropper? If this pen can't take any converter, I would love to find another way to use bottled inks with it, but I'm not sure what qualities a pen needs to have for an eyedropper conversion.

Edited by taeka

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• ThatLeoneGuy

• taeka

• Uncle Red

• atla

Does the pen take standard International cartridges or Cross cartridges? Take a picture if you're not sure.

According to the retailers that sell it, it does not take Cross cartridges, but it will take Schneider, Pelikan, PR, and Rosetta (I haven't tested this and have never used any of those to be able to compare). I did put the cart in just so I could play with it for now, so here's the pen with it installed: