Homemade Traveller's Notebook

Ted A

I've been thinking about getting a Midori traveller's notebook for a while now, and when the Goulet's started carrying them I was ready to buy. But by the time I got home they were out of the brown.

I had also been considering trying to make my own anyway, so with the excitement from watching Brian Goulet's introduction, but with them out of stock, I headed for Tandy Leather last Saturday.

I got a small shoulder piece of leather, which is a good thickness, from Tandy and some elastic from JoAnn Fabric.

I've been using the Scription Chronodex calendar for several months.

fpn_1361040538__tn5.png

It was designed to fit the Midori standard size so I used that for measuring and cutting to size.

fpn_1361040414__tn0.png

I already had some leather dye so after cutting it to the size I wanted, I dyed it.

I used an emerald green on the inside.

On the outside I put on a first coat of green and then a dark brown over it. I think it gives it a kind of bronze patina-like tone.

fpn_1361040487__tn3.png

I looped the elastic in from the bottom, up to the top and back down so I have 2 elastics to hold in my fillers. And a couple of cords for bookmarkers.

fpn_1361040514__tn4.png

I used a file folder to fold up and create a couple of pockets.

fpn_1361040571__tn7.png

And then put together a note taking booklet as well.

fpn_1361037424__tn6.png

So right now I have the calendar, the notebook and the file folder in there.

fpn_1361040612__tn8.png

I also made a cover for my Field Notes sized notebooks. It's close, but I think a little bit different in size from the Midori passport size.

fpn_1361037352__tn_1.png

fpn_1361040637__tn9.png

I haven't decided on a final closure system. Right now I have a large rubber band that works well side-to-side when doubled over, but also fits top to bottom. One advantage to making it myself is that I can try different configurations to see which I like.

Edited by Ted A