#1 tomattarashinu

tomattarashinu

Dipped Only

• Member - Gold

• Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 04 February 2013 - 13:16

I picked up a cheap used Japanese fountain pen. It has a 14k "soft" nib. When I got it, I cleaned it out and aligned the tines. It was a little scratchy. I used some 12000 micro mesh and smoothed it out. It writes beautifully when writing with a soft hand. When I "flex" this nib it digs into the paper. I didn't try it before smoothing so I don't know if it was like that before or if I caused it. Smoothing really involved a few figure 8s and a few infinity signs. Very little time on the mesh I can't seem to find a problem when looking at it with a 10x loupe. The shape seems ok to me but I am a beginner at nib smoothing.

I was thinking that I need to use the micro mesh between the tines to round out the inner edge or the tipping but I don't want to risk creating a babys bottom.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

P.S. This is my first post. Please be gentle. :embarrassed_smile:

#2 KrazyIvan

KrazyIvan

Fountain Pen Sith Lord

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,198 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 04 February 2013 - 16:26

It may be between the nib tines. In what direction does it scratch? It may also be just the really fine nib.

Edited by KrazyIvan, 04 February 2013 - 16:27.

#3 tomattarashinu

tomattarashinu

Dipped Only

• Member - Gold

• Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 04 February 2013 - 17:09

It scratches on downstrokes only when flexing (or adding pressure). It is a Japanese fine nib so it is pretty fine.

#4 Mickey

Mickey

Contemporary Philosopher

• Member - Gold

• 2,746 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 04 February 2013 - 17:47