#1 balson

balson

Vintage

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 660 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 27 November 2012 - 04:50

hello, i am just starting out learning pen restoration. it occurred to me as i was heating up a pen to loosten the shellac that i should check to see what health and safety concerns there are with fixing up old pens. should i have on a mask when heating up shellac? am i likely to run into parts made of lead or other heavy metals? just how high do flames from a cellulose pen fire go?

#2 The Write Pen

The Write Pen

Vintage

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 798 posts

Posted 27 November 2012 - 04:58

Don't use a flame, a heat gun or better a hair dryer is better. I'm not sure how the flames go up, but they go up quickly. I don't wear a mask, but others might.

Good luck,

danny

writepenbanner.gif

#3 Shaughn

Shaughn

Vintage

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 528 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 27 November 2012 - 08:01

Just common sense rules of thump when working with chemicals and tools :

Always read the manual and take the precautions mentioned. Additional:

If it stinks, ventilate. If it stinks much, ventilate and use a (dust)mask. If necessary, do it outdoors.

If it makes noise, protect your ears.

If a tool causes splintering, use eye protection.

If a tool makes dust, use a dustmask.

If you use fire (for heating, soldering)have a proper extinguisher at hand. Anything stinking is likely to burn suddenly and fiercely. Dust may even explode. Protect your eyes.

Have a suitable first aid kit at hand.

#4 kestrel

kestrel

School Eccentric

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 500 posts

Posted 27 November 2012 - 20:25