Review Of The Montblanc 149 By A Former Anti-Montblancite

sirach

So, I will be the first to admit that I have said nasty things about MontBlanc, and those who buy their pens. If you look, you can find all over Fountain Pen Network... my disapproval of the company, the pens, and most especially... the cost.

I have been using fountain pens for a long time. I first used a dip pen from HobbyLobby... 20 years ago... when I was in grade school. I made quills from goose feathers my sophomore year of high school (not very practical... but amused my English teacher. They did not last for long...) and I used a kit-pen with a steel nib for college. I have been through Lamy, Sheaffer, Waterman, Pelikan, Pilot, Noodler's. Platinum, Parker, Stypen, Wearever, Retro 51, and even some Hero pens. Through it all, I swore I would never use a MontBlanc.

I now use a lot of pens for work. I am a history teacher. I LIKE taking notes... which is why we give so many notes....

Having children softens you.... When you are teaching your children not to hate something, or to have an open mind... it has an effect on you. I can remember being in and out of the great ink battles shortly after Noodler's came out with ink. I finally concluded that it is.... ink... just ink. The thing that really urked me was that there were people that just would NOT try a brand because of one thing or another. I always thought they were silly... but my MB thing was different... I had just cause... or so I thought. After several years, I concluded that if someone handed me a MontBlanc for cheap... I would give it a whirl... just to see what the fuss was about... but I was not about to be impressed...