Caring For Makrolon, And Keeping Plastics Safe

Dioxazine

Hopefully this isn't in the wrong place.

I have limited experience with FPs and being young I've done some things that I now know were REALLY stupid, but I guess nothing came of it...yet. I'm never again going to make the stupid mistakes which I'm going to tell you about.

Currently, nothing's broken. Unless some things suddenly disintegrate because of my idiot newbie abuse a few years ago. Thank god that I have plenty of duplicates in that event. If that's going to happen, at least I can try to slow the process.

- I now know to keep plastics in the dark

- aluminum and water don't mix

- keep all types of alcohol away from plastic

- Higgin's ink is NOT okay for FPs, even if it says it is

- I'm only going to clean them with ammonia, dish soap, and water from now on.

- Plastics are very chemically unstable and just should not come into contact with most things.

on Lamy Safaris (ABS), I cleaned two stained ones with turpenoid, which got rid of the stains (in the spots I could reach), but they also took away the gloss and made the pens smell funny. After a while I thought it looked like the pens were no longer smelling weird and were becoming shiny again, but this was a slow process. I would uncap them and let them air out. I don't have them with me, but do you suppose that was a really bad idea and I should keep turpenoid away from them?