DR219

Dipped Only

• Member - Bronze

• Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 24 April 2012 - 20:04

Hi
I am new to fountain pens and I would like to purchase one but would like some insight from people who use them what is important when purchasing a fountian pen before I buy one? I have tested some out and like the F and M nib but is gold nib important? I want to stay with the Cross brand but is there something that they dont do that other pen companys do?

thanks for the help

#2 jar

jar

A Vintage Pen has to be older than me.

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,283 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 24 April 2012 - 20:06

Hi, welcome home. Pull up a stump and set a spell. Cross makes nice pens and has a history of good customer service. The material is pretty much the least important factor in determining how a fountain pen nib writes.

How pierceful grows the hazy yon! How myrtle petaled thou! For spring hath sprung the cyclotron - How high browse thou, brown cow? -- Churchy LaFemme, 1950

Anyone so limited that they can only spell a word one way suffers a severe handicap. -- jar

The last pen I bought will be the next to last pen I ever buy! --jar

#3 paul_barreto

paul_barreto

Mint

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 30 April 2012 - 22:18

... is there something that they dont do that other pen companys do?

Cross is one of the few pen makers that still gives a lifetime guarantee. I don't own a Cross but have family and friends who do. And from what I've heard, Cross honour the guarantee with no fuss.

I agree with Jar; a good nib should write well irrespective of the material. But in my experience, gold nibs are softer and have more flex to them so you should be able to get a broader line with a little extra pressure. Steel nibs have a firmer feel and don't allow much variation in line thickness.