Best Drawing Inks? (Sorry If This Is A Repeat)

Iwao

Hello all!

Another noob with another question. I'm an art student (don't want to say artist until I'm actually a professional) and have really gotten into drawing with fountain pens. But I'm come to a bit of a problem; I'm not sure which inks are better for drawing than others. I tend to prefer Noodler's inks (I really like the bottles, even if they are just stock bottles or whatever), though I'd love to try other brands as well.

I only have two full bottles right now, Noodler's Heart of Darkness and Navajo Turquoise, and I don't really think either of them suits me for drawing. Heart of Darkness is a very nice black and dries super fast, but for some reason my bottle of ink seems to bleed though everything, even Rhodia Webbies and Clairefontaine papers (I got it from Amazon and had quite a few issues with it from them, as detailed in my blog). For the Navajo Turquoise, I love the color and it behaves well on all my papers, but the dry time is extra extra slow. Even when I use blotting paper to pick up the wet spots, it seems like I still can't close the book or touch the heavy lines for several minutes.

I'm hoping all of these are actually just me being a silly noob, but none the less, I'd love to hear any advice other people have! If possible, I'd like the inks to have a few attributes:

1. Fast Dry. Doesn't have to be instant like the Bernanke inks supposedly are, but at least dry at the wet spots within a minutes

2. PH Neutral or Lightfast. Either/or, doesn't really matter to me.

3. If black, I'd like it be be waterproof or at least very water resistant. For colors, it doesn't matter to me so much.

Sorry if I'm being a noob, and sorry if this question gets asked a billion times. I did a search but couldn't find anything, and I don't know if I can read though all the ink reviews and not get everything jumbled in my head. Thanks for the help!

Pleasure to meet you, hope to talk to you more!

• Replies 19