Pretty Weird Flea Bay Listing; J With A Flexie Goes For $162.50

OcalaFlGuy

I am no fleabay expert but this looks weird, almost like a shill bidder to me.

http://cgi.ebay.com/VINTAGE-OLIVE-ESTERBROOK-J-FOUNTAIN-PEN-NEW-9048-NIB-/320689321379?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4aaa92b5a3

Thing is, I've had enough dealings with Jim and Sharon (ros7261) to know they are way too

ethical for a shill bid on their end.

I got a feeling this is going to be relisted.

I'm just not sure why someone would get their jollies fake biding for no apparent reason.

PS; I just heard back from Jim, the buyer has paid for the pen. :yikes:

Bruce in Ocala-even more clueless than usual on this one

Edited by OcalaFlGuy

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• pal38

• Hobiwan

• OcalaFlGuy

• Gobblecup

Gorgeous pen but for that price... yikes.gif No way!

I'm just a s confused as you are...

Need a pen repaired or a nib re-ground? I'd love to help you out.

FPN%252520banner.jpg

Colossians 3:17 - And whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.

I've dealt with them too, even long before he began restoring pens, they've never disappointed me.

I've seen some of their pens sell for ridiculously high prices, such as a few white Nurses' pens selling for way more than I'd ever pay.

It could be some existing buyers that know the high quality of the work he does and seeing something they like so they're willing to bid high?

Maybe it's the flex nib? I've seen them go for over $50 alone, even higher if NOS and the buyer is willing to pay it, one on the Bay now is listed @ $59.99.

I've seen many Esterbrook pens selling high, they had rare or hard-to-find nibs, the pens were not so rare, the nibs though brought the bids up drastically.

“I view my fountain pens & inks as an artist might view their brushes and paints.