#1 dreale

dreale

Dipped Only

• Member - Silver

• Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 03 April 2011 - 01:28

Hello! I am new to the network, and since I was young, always was interested in the Parker 75. How good a pen is it? (I currently have 4 Watermans, three are Phileas, one is a Writer II). Thank you!

#2 jar

jar

A Vintage Pen has to be older than me.

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,954 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 03 April 2011 - 01:58

It is a very, very good pen, slim compared to those you have though.

How pierceful grows the hazy yon! How myrtle petaled thou! For spring hath sprung the cyclotron - How high browse thou, brown cow? -- Churchy LaFemme, 1950

Anyone so limited that they can only spell a word one way suffers a severe handicap. -- jar

The last pen I bought will be the next to last pen I ever buy! --jar

#3 Bo Bo Olson

Bo Bo Olson

Ancient Artifact

• Member - Gold

• 12,447 posts

Posted 04 April 2011 - 00:25

I have a sterling silver cross hatched one; called cisele. Well I bought mine in 1970 before the French name came along.

It is IMO a perfectly balanced metal pen, light and as Jars mentioned thin.

If you hold your pen with your forefinger up instead of a death grip that will not matter.

The French version has a round section, the American version a triangular section.

You can turn the nib, setting it so it is canted. I tried that but 95% of the time write with it set 'normal'.

The Aeromatic (sp) the original rubber sac in the metal spring filler on mine is still good. I'd forgotten it can take cartridges, and I bought mine before there were converters.
So it's a triple threat for filling.

It's one of the 10 pens everyone should have one of, like the P-51, an Estie, a Snorkel and so on.

Semi-flex is an “almost” flex; not a ‘flex’ nib. It is great for regular writing. It can give you some fancy; but it is not made for real fancy writing. For that get a 'flexi' or a "flex" nib.

"