Omas Gentleman

regulator

A stationary shop is closing near home and I got inside just to have a closer look at a Duofold that was in the shop window. Once inside I was also shown a pen I did not know, namely an "Omas Gentleman". The looks are nice but I was surprised to see how light the pen actually is. I have been trying to gather some information on it, but there seems to be not much around, apart from the ubiquitous (and not extremely attractive for my taste)"Gentleman Seaman LE". I am completely new to Omas, and not an expert in Italian pens at all (just have a couple of Delta -DV and 366-), and mostly a Parker and German penman. As the price seems to be on the decent side and I don't dislike big, black pens, I would like to know if someone has any reference on the working of this sort of pen.

Thanks a lot!

JC

Edited by regulator

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• regulator

• eric47

• stephanos

• fabri00

The Gentleman was the same pen as the Paragon but without the gold Greek key band on the pen body.

Let me add, it's likely that the pen has been there since the 80s or early 90s. Should be a nice pen with in house nib.

Edited by jar

My Website

nce inside I was also shown a pen I did not know, namely an "Omas Gentleman". The looks are nice but I was surprised to see how light the pen actually is.

Jar is correct. Take a look here. Download the 80s catalog. Page 4, code 8221, you'll find the modern Gentleman.

I'm curious, does it say "Gentleman" or "Gentlemen"?

Armando Simoni's philosophy was that a pen should be light,and that's how Omas used to make their standard pens, i.e. ones without metal caps and bodies. Once the company was no longer owned by his descendents, that philosophy was pretty much cast aside.

Edited by eric47

Anyone becomes mannered if you think too much about what other people think. (Kim Gordon)

Well, thanks a lot!