Calligraphy Pen Vs Fountain Pen

mike in arkansas

As you can see I am a newbie to this site (and FP in general--the last FP I would have owned was probably in high school about 50 years ago. Anyway, Looking at getting a decent pen and I run across Calligraphy pens and Fountain pens. The Cal. are in mm nib sizes and FP are small medium large (or fine, medium or broad). What in the world is the difference. Lamy has Safari pens in both Calligraphy and FP. So .... why one over the other.

Thanks for helping out an old geezer.

Blessings, Mike

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• mike in arkansas

• Ernst Bitterman

• tonybelding

• nxn96

Mike, the calligraphy nibs marked in mm are i think italic nibs, i.e. that will have the stated line width on the downstroke, the crossstroke will be narrower.

The FP nibs marked F/M/B are usually round nibs with nearly the same line width in all directions.

In case you wish to write to me, pls use ONLY email by clicking here. I do not check PMs. Thank you.

Hari seems to be right on target. Although any FP nib can be used for calligraphy, those pens designated as "calligraphy" pens generally have italic nib points. Standard FP nibs are round, with designations from EF (or XF) to BB and beyond. (EF, F, M, B, BB.) The trick is always to find the nib point that suits your handwriting the best. I would suggest that if you have no experience with italic nibs, go ahead and try an inexpensive one to see what you think.

There's a couple of resources that might help-- one is a chart from a UK pen-seller that graphs out the various widths of point, and the other is on Richard Binder's site at the bottom of the Nibarama page with actual widths side-by-each.

Edited by Ernst Bitterman

Ravensmarch Pens & Books
It's mainly pens, just now....

Oh, good heavens. He's got a blog now, too.

fpn_1465330536__hwabutton.jpg